Australia Set to Battle South Africa in White-Ball Showdown!

Cricket aficionados, get ready to cheer! This exciting summer showdown between South Africa and Australia will begin with three Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) and will progress to five One-Day Internationals (ODIs), all in preparation for the 2023 Cricket World Cup.

south africa

Kingsmead stadium in Durban will be the place to be for the Twenty20 Internationals, which will begin on the 30th of August.

After that, the competition will move on to the 50-over version at Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein on September 7th.

Bloemfontein will play host to the opening two One-Day Internationals, with Potchefstroom, Centurion, and Johannesburg each hosting a single match after that.

Both teams will be trying to hone their abilities in preparation for the next Cricket World Cup, which will take place in India between the months of October and November.

South Africa has not yet qualified for the event, although they have a chance to grab an automatic qualification position.

It is possible if Ireland is unable to win all three of their matches against Bangladesh in the 2017 Cricket World Cup Super League series.

If Ireland is successful in pulling off the upset, South Africa will be forced to take part in the Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe, which will begin on June 18th.


This will be Australia’s first trip to South Africa since 2020, when the hosts won the ODI series 3-0 while losing the T20I series to Australia. This will be Australia’s first trip to South Africa since 2020.

“We are thrilled to start our international season with this campaign against a formidable Australian side,” said Pholetsi Moseki, the CEO of Cricket South Africa. “We have a lot of respect for the Australian national team.”

These matches and travels are extremely important for our Proteas Men as the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup is right around the corner.

We have a wonderful chance to further expanding on the hard work that Coach Rob Walter and his staff have already put in.

Put these dates on your calendars and get ready for a thrilling summer full of cricket matches!

Australia tour of South Africa

T20Is (all local time, all at Kingsmead Stadium, Durban)

  • Wednesday, 30 August – 18:00
  • Friday, 01 September – 18:00
  • Sunday, 03 September – 14:00

ODIs (all local time)

  • Thursday, 07 September – 13:00 – Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein
  • Saturday, 09 September – 13:00 – Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein
  • Tuesday, 12 September – 13:00 – JB Marks Oval, Potchefstroom
  • Friday, 15 September – 13:00 – SuperSport Park, Centurion
  • Sunday, 17 September – 10:00 – Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg